About Taylor

Dispuut Taylor is since its founding in 1980 the official study association of the Precision and Microsystems (PME) department at the Delft University of Technology.

What we do

In our vision Taylor has four goals as a study association:

Organize Activities

The first one of these goals is to organize activities next to the regular educational programme. Excursions, lunch lectures, receptions, workshops ( LaTeX, Python, COMSOL) and the Taylor trip are examples of the activities we offer our students. With these activities we aim to supply the students with a practical addition to their education.


Students’ interests

Secondly, we aim to look after the interests of the students of the Precision and Microsystems department. Representitives of Dispuut Taylor are present during faculty meetings such as those of the Educational Committee mechanical engineering  (OCWB). Furthermore, the Taylor office is located within the department and we maintain extensive contact with the educational staff, faculty secretaries and Msc. coordinator.

Connect with Industry

Preparing the students for the high-tech industry is our third goal. Therefore, a great part of the activities of Taylor is organized in collaboration with industry partners. In order to achieve this, our commissioner external affairs maintains contact with our industry partners.

Improve Education

The final goal of our study association is to help improve the PME masters programme. We do this by means of feedback after the examinations. During these feedback sessions students provide feedback on the followed courses. We process this feedback and supply the lecturers with a summary of the remarks.

Our Story

Taylor is the study association related to the department Precision and Microsystems Engineering of Delft University of Technology. The association was founded in 1980 to enhance the study experience of the students. The Taylor Foundation, in its legal form, was subsequently founded in 1992, making it an official organ in the TU Delft. During this time, the department changed its name from “Production Engineering” to the PME you are all familiar with. In contrast to what many people think, Taylor is not named after the famous mathematician known for the Taylor expansion. It is named after the mechanical engineer Frederick Winslow Taylor, who was active in production engineering and industrial efficiency. The logo of Taylor was inspired by the tip of an Atomic Force Microscope, an instrument that requires technology from all the divisions of our department.



Tim van der Linde Frank van Jeveren Bart van der Horst Michiel Bron Jeroen Bloem



Evert van de Plassche Ivor Boers Stephanie Huijgen Ynse Hoornenborg


Onno Willemse Maarten Hotze Roelof Hoefs Franklin Geurts


J. Vriesema W. Baars L. van der Ham R. Helmes



Albert Drost Koen Vermeltfoort Ron Gijzen Mervyn van der Ploeg



Erik Jurjens Erik Vermeulen Zamrud Kurnia Frans Stokkermans Martin Rodenburg

Want more information?

Come by at the office or make use of the contact form.